12. A WORLD AT WAR RULE ADJUSTMENTS

12.1   INTRODUCTION

12.2   A WORLD AT WAR RULES

12.1  INTRODUCTION:

12.11 The A World at War rules and scenarios contain a number of references that reflect the historical outbreak of war in Fall 1939. These rules must be adapted to Gathering Storm generated wars as set out below.

12.2  A WORLD AT WAR RULES:

12.21  A WORLD AT WAR RULE CHANGES: All rule numbers are from the A World at War rules.

 

9.91  INITIAL AXIS OFFENSIVE OPERATIONS:  In the first turn of A World at War, an Axis major power that undertook aggression against a minor country in the final turn of Gathering Storm may not carry out any offensive actions or attritions on fronts other than the one containing that minor country. (EXCEPTION: Raiders - 21.5331).

 

11.32  GENERAL RESTRICTIONS:

A. EUROPE:

 

11.341  SPECIAL CASES:

D. POLAND: If the Nazi-Soviet Pact was not signed, there is no partition of Poland and eastern Poland remains an integral part of Poland. The Western Allies may build partisans in any eligible hex in Poland once they may build partisans in Europe; Russia may not build partisans in Poland.

 

15.54 EARLY GERMAN EXPLOITATION ATTACKS: "Ex" results from German exploitation attacks are treated as "Ex-1" results:

A. In a minor country against which Germany undertook aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm.

B. On the western front during the first two Axis player turns in which the Axis conduct any western front offensive ground or air operations, other than solely against Austria or Czechoslovakia, but no later than four turns after the outbreak of war.

 

18.142  AIRBASE PLACEMENT:  Once play begins, major powers may place airbases on the mapboard as follows:

...

B. Each turn:

 

20.631  INITIAL LEVELS: The initial number of transports are:

A. ATLANTIC: 15 Western Allied transports.

B. INDIAN OCEAN: 5 Western Allied transports.

C. PACIFIC: 10 Western Allied transports.

D. AT LARGE: 4, 5 or 6 Western Allied transports, as set out in transition rule 6.49B, to be initially allocated to the Atlantic or Indian Oceans as desired.

E. UNBUILT: 4, 5 or 6 Western Allied transports, as set out in transition rule 6.49B.

 

21.211 RESTRICTIONS ON NAVAL MOVEMENT THROUGH STRAITS: Naval movement through certain straits is prohibited as set out below. Entry into a prohibited strait to carry out a naval activity is permitted provided the naval units leave the strait on the same side they entered, without passing through the strait. The control requirements set out below must be met at the start of the phase in which the naval activity is conducted:

G. STRAIT OF OTRANTO (AA25, AA26): Brindisi (AA25) and Durazzo (AA26) must be under friendly or neutral control.

 

21.444  INITIAL HARBOR ATTACKS:  Germany, Italy and Britain may  begin the game with the ability to make a harbor attack against one or two enemy targets, depending on how many steps of Gathering Storm research they conducted. This attack may be made in the first turn of war or any subsequent turn, provided no harbor attacks researched in A World at War have been made. The execution of harbor attacks researched in Gathering Storm does not modify subsequent harbor attacks.

 

21.532  RAIDER GROUPS:

A. ELIGIBLE SHIPS: Cruisers, capital ships and fast carriers may raid; German and Italian five-factor battleships may raid if Germany or Italy, respectively, achieved two Gathering Storm battleship design results; destroyers and slow ships may not.

E. COMPOSITION:  Each raider group may consist of no more than three ships, and may contain only one fast carrier and only one five-factor battleship, if these are permitted to raid by the achievement of two Gathering Storm battleship design results. Each two-factor cruiser is considered one ship.

 

21.5331  PLACEMENT OF RAIDERS DURING OPENING SETUP:  If A World at War begins with Germany at war with Britain or France, Germany may place one or more of the Graf Spee, Lutzow and Scheer in the Atlantic SW box during its opening setup. These may be grouped together or in separate raiding groups. Once placed, these ships must raid, with Germany paying one BRP for each raiding ship during the Axis combat phase of the first turn of war.

 

21.5342  DETERMINING WHICH SHIPS ENGAGE:

C. The number of fast carriers and five-factor battleship that may engage each raiding group is limited as follows:

 

21.538  SECOND ENGAGEMENT ATTEMPT:

...

B. After naval combat is resolved or declined by the defender, all surviving raiders and defending naval units return to any eligible ports or mapboard boxes (21.5342G) and may be attacked by defending air units and intercepted by defending naval units as they do so (EXCEPTIONS: German raiders returning to port in the first turn of war after having started the game at sea - 21.5331 - and German raiders returning to Bergen or Scapa Flow may not be attacked by air or intercepted as they return to port - 22.11A). Surviving raiders may not make a second attack against the defender’s transports in that turn.

 

24.21  FORCE POOL EXPANSION BY PRODUCTION: All SW unit force pools may be expanded by the expenditure of RPs for production (42). SW unit force pool expansion is permitted in 1940 and thereafter, subject to the following restrictions:

A. Strategic bombers may not be produced by a major power which has not achieved at least one “9+” result for strategic bombers. At the start of the game, only Britain and the U.S. meet this requirement. The Western Allies may produce strategic bombers exclusively for European use beginning in the first year following the outbreak of war; and the U.S. may produce strategic bombers exclusively for Pacific use beginning in 1944 (42.22B).

 

25.13  USE OF SUBMARINES IN THE SW BOXES:  In order to engage in submarine SW combat in an SW box, submarines must begin their player turn in that SW box. The use of submarines for SW combat is restricted as follows:

A. GERMANY:

 

27.7221  ONE-FACTOR NAVAL UNITS:

A. Each turn no more than half (round up) of each major power’s shipbuilding rate may be used to construct destroyers, CVEs, submarines, ASW and transports. This limit applies separately to each major power shipyard (EXCEPTION: 18 steps of Gathering Storm transport research allows one Canadian heavy shipbuilding point to be used for transport construction).

 

27.7272  During each unit construction phase, the moving player has four options (27.7272A-D) for each naval unit which appears in the column for that turn on each of his Naval Construction Charts. Naval units in columns for other turns are ignored unless they are scuttled (27.7272E):

...

B. ACCELERATING CONSTRUCTION: ..:

 

27.7322  TRANSPORTS:  Starting in Fall 1939, the U.S. may use its shipyards to build transports prior to the outbreak of war between the U.S. and Germany as follows: …

 

32.4  STARTING FORTIFICATIONS:

32.41  The following hexes are fortified at the start of the game, regardless of when war breaks out:

...

32.43  DIRECTIONAL FORTRESSES:

A. The Maginot Line, if upgraded by French Gathering Storm Maginot Line research – transition rule 6.54B).

...

32.44  DIRECTIONAL FORTIFICATIONS:

A. The Maginot Line, if not upgraded or extended by French Gathering Storm Maginot Line research – transition rule 6.54B).

B. The West Wall, if built by German Gathering Storm West Wall research – transition rule 6.54A).

 

33.24 THE INTERNATIONAL MARKET: The international market produces oil counters to which all neutral major powers have access, although Japanese access may be impeded by an oil embargo (33.4521).

 

34.12 NAZI-SOVIET PACT LINE: The western boundary of the Russian winter zone is the Nazi-Soviet Pact line printed on the A World at War mapboard. All references to the Nazi-Soviet Pact line in the context of weather are to this boundary, which does not change even if, as a result of Gathering Storm, the actual Nazi-Soviet Pact line is in a different location or if there is no Nazi-Soviet Pact at all.

 

35.11  YSS AT THE START OF EACH YEAR: If war breaks out in a Gathering Storm Winter turn, so that the first turn of A World at War is a Spring turn, a YSS is conducted:

A. NO BRP GROWTH: No BRP growth may occur in this YSS, because there is no previous year to generate a BRP surplus. Any BRPs from Gathering Storm tiles and trade pacts are added to the relevant major power’s BRP allocation for that year, but do not affect the major power’s BRP base.

B. DPs AND RPs: The allotment of DPs and RPs for each major power is based on its basic allotment as supplemented by its BRP level.

35.12  NO YSS DURING THE YEAR:  If war breaks out in a Gathering Storm Spring, Summer or Fall turn, A World at War begins part way through the year, and no YSS is conducted. Each major power receives its basic allotment of DPs and RPs, regardless of its BRP level.

 

35.31  GROWTH RATES:  During each YSS, unspent BRPs from the previous year, as determined at the end of the previous winter game turn, are multiplied by the major power’s growth rate. Fractions are dropped and the result is added to the major power’s BRP base. The remaining BRPs are lost. The major power growth rates are as follows, reduced by 5% for each oil counter missing from the alliance faction oil reserve for the major power in question (33.61E):

A. Germany, Britain, France, Italy: 1936-1940 YSS: 10%; 1941 YSS: 20%; 1942 YSS: 30%; 1943 YSS: 40%; 1944-1946 YSS: 50%; up to the maximum allowed for each country:

B. Russia:

 

35.42 DECREASES: A major power’s BRP base may decrease during the year as follows:

A. LOSS OF GERMAN CONQUESTS: If the German BRP base exceeds its original value, Germany must receive two BRPs from conquests and minor countries (35.51A-G) for each additional BRP of German base. At the end of any Axis combat phase in which this condition is not met, the German BRP base is reduced, at no additional BRP cost to Germany other than the normal BRP loss (35.63), to the original value of the German BRP base, plus half the value of Germany’s conquests and minor countries.

 

35.92  U.S. STARTING BRP LEVELS:  The U.S. begins all games with a BRP base of 100 BRPs in Fall 1939. This applies to a Global War campaign game and the European and Pacific scenarios.

 

35.95  AMERICAN BRP GROWTH:  The U.S. calculates BRP growth normally during each YSS, beginning with the first YSS following the outbreak of war.

 

36.32 ELIGIBLE UNITS: Force pool increases from mobilization, even if deferred and combined with production, can only be used to generate the following types of units:

...

C. Armor:

 

36.341 RESTRICTIONS: Shipyard mobilization is subject to the following restrictions:

...

D. German, Italian, British and French mobilizations may not be used to increase shipbuilding.

 

37.11  STARTING VALUES:  During each YSS following the outbreak of war, Russia receives BRPs for each IC under its control. Until all of Russia’s ICs are mobilized, each IC is worth 10 BRPs.

 

39.22  RESTRICTIONS ON DEFICIT SPENDING:  Deficit spending is subject to the following restrictions:

...

C. If war breaks out in a Summer, Fall or Winter turn, deficit spending is prohibited until the following year.

 

41.31  RESTRICTIONS ON RP ALLOCATION:  The date restrictions for starting jet (6.31), advanced submarine (6.45) and rocket (6.52) research in A World at War are determined by the Gathering Storm research results for those projects. Otherwise the date restrictions in 41.31D apply.

D. DATE RESTRICTIONS: RPs may not be assigned to the following research and production projects until the indicated date. The 1942 YSS restriction for Western Allied and Japanese RPs applies regardless of when war breaks out between Japan and the Western Allies. Prohibited dates are indicated by shaded boxes on each alliance faction’s research record sheets:

 

41.87 PREWAR RESEARCH: At the start of the campaign game:

A. EUROPE: All European major power research results and modifiers are determined by Gathering Storm research, including the starting Gathering Storm research results. The Western Allies do not incur a -1 modifier in A World at War from their pre-war strategic bomber research result.

B. JAPAN: Japan starts A World at War with the following research results: air range: [+5]; one torpedo result. Japan does not incur a -1 modifier in A World at War from its pre-war torpedo research result.

 

42.16  PRODUCTION RESTRICTIONS:

A. PRODUCTION ALLOWED ONLY IN FULL YEARS OF WAR: Unless war breaks out in a Gathering Storm Winter turn, so that the first turn of A World at War is a Spring turn, production in the first year of war is prohibited (RPs may not be allocated to production until the first YSS occurs in A World at War).

B. LIMITS ON PRODUCTION RESULTS LIMITED BY YEAR: The number of increments of production that may be triggered in production projects that create air and military units is limited according to the year: 1936-41: one increment in each year; 1942: two increments; 1943: three increments; and so on. Up to five BRPs of surplus production may be carried over into a subsequent year (42.335). This restriction applies to the following production projects:

 

42.333  ARMOR:

A. GERMANY: Germany may produce:

 

44.24 COMMUNIST SUBVERSION:

A. ELIGIBLE TARGETS: Each successful subversion research result allows Russia to apply a special modifier to one Axis or Russian diplomatic die roll for Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia (or Croatia or Serbia, following a Gathering Storm partition of Yugoslavia), Albania (if unconquered by Italy in Gathering Storm) or Greece. Subversion may not be used to modify Western Allied diplomatic die rolls.

 

49.32 RUSSIAN DP ALLOCATIONS: Russia may allocate DPs only to:

A. Bulgaria, Croatia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, Serbia, Sweden, Turkey, the Ukraine and Yugoslavia; and

B. Any other minor country which has a pro-Russian diplomatic modifier as a result of Gathering Storm diplomacy

 

49.411  EUROPEAN AXIS:

A. The European Axis may select one target for a diplomatic die roll (EXCEPTION: The European Axis may also make die rolls for Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Poland, Rumania and Yugoslavia (Croatia and Serbia) and may even name all these minor countries in the same turn, but may only name each minor country once per year).

 

49.4261 DPs: Each diplomatic die roll is increased by the total number of Axis DPs in the target, and decreased by the total number of Allied DPs in the target:

B. WESTERN ALLIED AND RUSSIAN DPs:

 

49.431 TARGETS MAY ONLY BE NAMED ONCE EACH YEAR: A target may only be named for a diplomatic die roll once each year, with the following exceptions. DPs placed in a target remain for the entire year and apply to all diplomatic die rolls for that target in that year:

B. FINLAND, POLAND AND THE BALKANS: If the Western Allies or Russia name Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Poland, Rumania or Yugoslavia before Russia is at war with Germany, the European Axis may name that country later in the same year.

 

49.434 CROATIA, FINLAND, SERBIA, SWEDEN AND YUGOSLAVIA: Croatia, Finland, Serbia, Sweden and Yugoslavia may not be named by Russia for a diplomatic die roll until Russia is at war with Germany or the RGT level is 50 or more, although Russia may place DPs in Croatia, Finland, Serbia, Sweden and Yugoslavia before these conditions are met. This prohibition does not apply to the Western Allies.

 

49.435 EFFECTS OF AGGRESSION:

A. DECLARATIONS OF WAR: If a major power declares war on a neutral minor country, thereby causing that minor country to associate with a member of an opposing alliance faction, the aggressor major power may not again select that minor country as a target for a diplomatic die roll.

B. CONQUEST: Once the capital of a minor country comes under the control of enemy forces, that minor country is conquered and any diplomatic result for that minor country no longer applies. Conquered minor countries may not be named as diplomatic targets.

C. POLISH BORDER WARS: If either Germany or Russia triggers a border war with Poland, it may not subsequently select Poland as a target for a diplomatic die roll.

 

49.51 RESULTS: Once all diplomatic die rolls are made for the targets announced for a particular diplomatic phase, the diplomatic results are implemented as set out in the applicable diplomatic table.

D. If Italy or France starts A World at War with an economic interest in a minor country as a result of a Gathering Storm trade pact (transition rule 7.22C), that economic interest is retained by Italy or France even if greater diplomatic results benefitting an allied major power subsequently occur. If Italy or France surrenders, their economic interests in minor countries pass to German and Britain, respectively.

 

50.32 DECLARATIONS OF WAR ON MAJOR POWERS: Declarations of war on major powers are subject to transition rule 2.2. In addition:

B. ITALY: Italy may not declare war on the Western Allies once the U.S. is at war with Germany. Italy may not declare war on Russia.

D. BRITAIN AND FRANCE: Britain and France may not declare war on Japan.

F. RUSSIA: Russia may declare war on Germany only if the current RGT level is at least 50 (EXCEPTION: If Germany has an economic interest in a minor country that is attacked by Russia and Germany supports the minor country, Russia may declare war on Germany - 50.24). If there is no Nazi-Soviet Pact and RGT are not being tracked, Russia may declare war on Germany when it is fully mobilized. Russia may not declare war on Italy without also declaring war on Germany. Russia may declare war on Japan only if the BRP value of the Siberian garrison is at least twice the BRP value of the Manchurian garrison (EXCEPTIONS: The BRP value of the Manchurian garrison is less than 30 BRPs or Germany has surrendered - 81.51B).

 

50.33  DECLARATIONS OF WAR ON MINOR COUNTRIES:

A. GERMANY:

B. ITALY:

C. RUSSIA: Until Russia is at war with Germany or Russo-German tensions have reached 50:

D. U.S.: Until the U.S. is at war with Germany, it may not declare war on any minor countries.

E. BRITAIN AND FRANCE:

 

53.21  COOPERATION RESTRICTIONS TEMPORARY:  Friction between Britain and France early in the war limits cooperation between the two powers as set out below. Some or all of the Anglo-French cooperation restrictions can be lifted by a successful Anglo-French cooperation research result. Regardless of the current Anglo-French cooperation level from research, all Anglo-French cooperation restrictions are lifted at the earliest of the following:

A. The start of the fourth, third or second Allied player turn, depending on the level of Gathering Storm Anglo-French cooperation research achieved by the Allies (transition rule 6.772A), following any one of:

B. The start of the Allied Spring player turn in the second year after the outbreak of war (Spring 1941 if war broke out in 1939).

C. The start of the Allied player turn after France surrenders.

 

56.53 ITALIAN ECONOMIC INTERESTS: Italian economic interests in minor countries from Gathering Storm trade pacts become German when Italy surrenders.

 

58.21 CALCULATING THE FRENCH SURRENDER LEVEL:  The French surrender level is the key modifier for determining the size of Vichy and Free French forces and the political alignment of the French colonies. The French surrender level, including after a voluntarily French surrender (58.11B), is the cumulative total of the following modifiers (positive modifiers favor the Axis):

C. FRENCH FLEET: +/-1 for every five naval factors the French fleet varies from its historical 42 fleet factors, to a maximum of +/-3 (less than 27 factors: +3; 28-32 factors: +2; 33-37 factors: +1; 38-47 factors: no modifier; 48-52 factors: -1; 53-57 factors: -2; 58 or more factors: -3).

D. FRENCH BATTLESHIP DESIGN RESEARCH: +1 if the Allies didn’t achieve a French battleship design research result in Gathering Storm; -1 if the Allies achieved two French battleship design research results in Gathering Storm.

E. TURN OF SURRENDER: The number of turns after Germany gains control of any hex in France, including the turn in which this first occurs: one turn: +2; two turns: no modifier; three turns: -2; four or more turns: -4.

F. DPs: Axis and Western Allied DPs placed in France, as reduced by covert operations (47.21C).

G. ANGLO-FRENCH COOPERATION RESEARCH RESULT: -1 if the Western Allies achieved a “7+” Anglo-French cooperation research result.

 

58.51  MINOR COUNTRIES:  All French minor allies, associated minor countries and French economic interests in minor countries become British.

 

58.521 FRENCH ECONOMIC INTERESTS: French economic interests in minor countries from Gathering Storm trade pacts become British when France surrenders.

 

58.613 FRENCH ARMOR: If France had a 4-5 armor unit in its force pool as a result of French armor research in Gathering Storm:

A. FREE FRENCH FORCES: If the French surrender level is -3 and Vichy France is not established, the Free French forces include a French 4-5 armor unit, rather than a 3-5 armor unit.

B. VICHY FRENCH FORCES: If the French surrender level is +3 and Vichy France is established, the Vichy French forces include a French 4-5 armor unit, rather than a 3-5 armor unit.

 

63.51 RGT RESTRICTIONS: Russian actions are limited by the RGT level, as follows:

B. RUSSIAN GARRISON REQUIREMENTS: At the end of any Russian player turn in which RGT are 20 or greater:

These requirements do not apply to Russian ground and air units in excess of the above amounts, including Russian one-factor infantry or airborne units, Russian units which begin the game in the Pacific theater, or Russian associated or minor ally units. These restrictions are lifted once Russia and Germany go to war or when RGT reach 50.

F. RUSSIAN SURPRISE EFFECTS: If the RGT level is less than 40 at the moment Germany declares war on Russia, the following apply in the first turn of a German invasion, in addition to all normal modifiers and movement impairments:

 

64.31  DISTINCT FROM WESTERN POLAND:  If the Nazi-Soviet Pact was signed, eastern Poland consists of that part of Poland east of the Nazi-Soviet partition line and is treated as a separate entity from western Poland throughout the game. If the Nazi-Soviet Pact was not signed, there is no partition of Poland and eastern Poland remains an integral part of Poland.

 

64.35 RUSSIAN ENTRY INTO EASTERN POLAND: Provided the Nazi-Soviet Pact is in effect, eastern Poland automatically comes under Russian control at the end of the turn in which Germany first attacks Poland, without the need for a declaration of war or offensive operations. Russia may not refuse to take control of eastern Poland. Russian units may not move across the Polish partition line unless Russia is at war with Germany.

 

65.22 IMMEDIATE GERMAN OCCUPATION PROHIBITED: If the Nazi-Soviet Pact in in effect, Germany may not declare war on the Baltic States in the first turn of A World at War. Subject to 65.23, Russia may declare war on the Baltic States at any time, regardless of the RGT level.

65.23 DELAYED RUSSIAN OCCUPATION OF THE BALTIC STATES: If Russia does not declare war on the Baltic States in the first turn of A World at War, either Germany or Russia may do so on any subsequent turn. Once one side has declared war on and entered the Baltic States, the other side may not enter the Baltic States until the Axis and Russia are at war.

 

66.11 RUSSIAN DEMANDS: If Bessarabia has been obtained by Russia as a Nazi-Soviet Pact concession, Russia may demand territorial concessions from Rumania during the diplomatic phase of any Russian player turn, provided the Axis do not control any Rumanian hexes, regardless of the current RGT level.

These requirements do not apply to Russian ground and air units in excess of the above amounts, including Russian one-factor infantry or airborne units, Russian units which begin the game in the Pacific theater, or Russian associated or minor ally units. These restrictions are lifted once Russia and Germany go to war or when RGT reach 50.

 

66.21 RUMANIAN DEPLOYMENT: If Russia engages in a border war with Rumania for Bessarabia, all Rumanian ground units must deploy in Bessarabia and at least two Rumanian infantry factors must deploy in each of Cernauti and Kishinev.

 

67.11 RUSSIAN DEMANDS: If the Finnish border hexes have been obtained by Russia as a Nazi-Soviet Pact concession, Russia may demand territorial concessions from Finland during the diplomatic phase of the second or any subsequent Russian player turn, provided the Axis do not control any Finnish hexes, regardless of the current RGT level.

 

67.21 FINNISH DEPLOYMENT: If border war breaks out between Russia and Finland over the Finnish border hexes, the Finnish deployments depend on the size of the Finnish army. The Finnish AAF always deploys in Helsinki.

A. TWO 2-3 INFANTRY UNITS: One Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in each of two Finnish border hexes. The third Finnish border hex is undefended.

B. THREE 2-3 INFANTRY UNITS: One Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in each of the three Finnish border hexes.

C. FOUR 2-3 INFANTRY UNITS: One Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in each of the three Finnish border hexes and the remaining Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in Helsinki.

D. FIVE 2-3 INFANTRY UNITS: One Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in each of the three Finnish border hexes and the remaining two Finnish 2-3 infantry units deploy in Helsinki.

E. SIX 2-3 INFANTRY UNITS: One Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys in each of the three Finnish border hexes, two Finnish 2-3 infantry units deploy in Helsinki, and the remaining Finnish 2-3 infantry unit deploys adjacent to a Finnish border hex.

 

69.11 A German economic interest in Russia has no effect on the Russian BRP level and is terminated in the turn after Germany and Russia go to war or the RGT level reaches 45, with Germany losing the prorated value of the economic interest.

 

69.32 ECONOMIC INTEREST AND HEX CONTROL: If Germany gains control of the hexes in a minor country which is at war with Russia, including a Russo-Finnish, Russo-Polish or Russo-Rumanian border war, it must declare war on Russia or choose a lower diplomatic result.

 

70.14  FORCES:

A. Canada begins A World at War with one 3-4 infantry unit in the Atlantic U.S. box. This unit may be NRed to Europe in the first turn of A World at War.

B. One 3-4 infantry unit is added, unbuilt, to the Canadian force pool four turns after the first turn of A World at War.

C. One 4-5 armor unit is added, unbuilt, to the Canadian force pool six turns after the first turn of A World at War.

D. No additional Canadian units may be mobilized or produced.

 

70.24  FORCES:  South Africa begins A World at War with one 3-4 infantry unit and three 1-3 infantry units in the South Africa box. These units may be NRed to Europe in the first turn of A World at War. No additional South African units may be mobilized or produced.

 

71.12  FORCES:

A. Australia begins A World at War with one 2-2 and three 1-2 infantry units, two CAs (four cruiser factors) and two DDs.

B. Two 2-2 infantry units, one 1-2 infantry unit and two AAF are added, unbuilt, to the Australian force pool in Fall 1940, regardless of when war breaks out in Europe.

C. Western Allied military production may be used to increase the Australian infantry force pool by up to three infantry factors of any denomination (one 2-2 and one 1-2; or three 1-2s) in any Allied player turn following the outbreak of war between Britain and Japan or in Spring 1942, whichever is earlier.

71.14  USE IN EUROPE LIMITED:  In the first turn of A World at War, one Australian 1-2 infantry unit may be NRed to Europe; the other four Australian infantry factors must remain in Australia. In Fall 1940 or thereafter, one Australian 2-2 infantry unit may be constructed by Britain and NRed to Europe. Australian units which are eliminated may be rebuilt using British BRPs and NRed to Europe. Australian units are restricted to the Mediterranean front and Ethiopia.

In a European scenario, all Australian units in Europe must return to the Pacific theater in Fall 1941.

 

72.12  FORCES:

A. India begins A World at War with four 2-2 and four 1-2 infantry units.

B. Western Allied military production may be used to increase the Indian infantry force pool by up to three infantry factors of any denomination (one 2-2 and one 1-2; or three 1-2s) in any Allied player turn following the outbreak of war between Britain and Japan or in Spring 1942, whichever is earlier.

72.14  USE IN EUROPE LIMITED:  In the first turn of A World at War, one Indian 2-2 and one Indian 1-2 infantry unit may be NRed to Europe; the other Indian infantry factors must remain in Asia. Indian units sent to Europe may be replaced if lost, provided no more than one Indian 2-2 and one Indian 1-2 infantry unit are in Europe at the same time. Indian units are restricted to the Mediterranean front and Ethiopia.

 

79.51 OFFENSIVE OPERATIONS: Russia pays the BRP cost for all Communist Chinese offensive operations. If war breaks out in Europe after Summer 1939, the cost of all Communist Chinese offensive operations prior to the outbreak of war in Europe is tracked and deducted from the starting Russian BRP total.

 

81.32 USE OF MANCHURIAN UNITS: Once war has broken out in Europe, Manchurian garrison units may be used without penalty, although a reduction in the size of the Manchurian garrison, including the inversion of Japanese army air units in Manchuria after their use and subsequent redeployment, permits Russia to withdraw comparable units from its Siberian garrison (81.42C) and may allow a Russian declaration of war on Japan (81.51B). The ZoC of Japanese armor units in Manchuria extends beyond the borders of Manchuria into Chinese and Korean territory.

 

82.12 STATUS AT THE OUTBREAK OF WAR: Regardless of when war breaks out, the British and French European colonies, Libya (Italy) and the Ukraine (Russia) are colonies. Otherwise the initial status of minor countries depends on Gathering Storm developments. Once A World at War begins, other minor countries may enter the war either by being invaded by a major power or as a result of diplomacy.

82.13 COMMONWEALTH: If Britain is at war, Canada, South Africa, Australia and India are also at war. Commonwealth units are treated as British units for all purposes, with the following exceptions:

82.21 DIPLOMATIC RESULT REQUIRED: A major power may obtain minor country BRPs diplomatically as set out in the diplomatic tables:

A. After a diplomatic result of “7” (Axis) or “0” (Western Allies, Russia):

B. After a diplomatic result of “8” (Axis) or “-1” (Western Allies, Russia):

 

British Commonwealth - 82.61

Canada

 

Army

Air

Naval

 

4-5

3-4

AAF

Ship.

At Start

-

1

-

1

War +4

-

1[2]

-

-

War +6

1

-

-

-

 

83.12 MINOR COUNTRIES WITHOUT CAPITALS: The following areas are conquered when the listed cities or hexes are controlled:

B. BALTIC STATES: Riga, Parnu and Tallinn. If the Pact line runs through the Baltic States then Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are considered to be separate countries worth five BRPs each, and are conquered as follows: Lithuania: control of all four Lithuanian hexes; Latvia: control of Riga; Estonia: control of Tallinn and Parnu.

 

84.47 UNIT CONSTRUCTION:

A. Associated minor country infantry units are built at no BRP cost. Subject to the exceptions set out below, an associated minor country may rebuild a single one- or two-factor infantry unit each turn.

 

85.46  GEOGRAPHICAL RESTRICTIONS:  Minor ally units may enter any hexes in their home country, as well as the following areas:

A. BALKAN MINOR ALLIES:

J. ALBANIA: Greece, European Turkey, and the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor country. Albanian units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the same alliance.

K. AUSTRIA: No restrictions.

L. CZECHOSLOVAKIA: No restrictions.

M. POLAND: No restrictions.

 

Modifier for Unbuilt Units:

The modifier for unbuilt units favors the opponent of the alliance faction with which the minor country is allied, associated or otherwise aligned. Vichy France, Spain while a “5-6” diplomatic result allows it to send volunteers to the eastern front, and Finland, Poland and Rumania after border wars, including a German-Polish border war over Danzig and the Polish Corridor, are considered to be aligned with the Axis, except after a subsequent “0” or lower diplomatic result. Otherwise the modifier for unbuilt units favors the opponent of the alliance faction which selected the minor country for a diplomatic die roll.

 

Balkan Modifiers:

The following modifiers apply to each of Bulgaria, Hungary, Rumania and Yugoslavia:

  +3     If Russia is at war with any Balkan country or Poland, other than an active German minor ally (including a border war with Rumania over Bessarabia or Poland over eastern Poland).