33. THE END OF THE GAME

33.1      WHEN THE GAME ENDS

33.2      COMPLETING RESEARCH

33.1  WHEN THE GAME ENDS:

33.11  Gathering Storm ends when two or more major powers go to war.

33.12  When Gathering Storm ends, the players may either total the victory points for each major power to determine the winner (34) or begin a game of A World at War from the starting position determined by Gathering Storm. Players may wish to total the Gathering Storm victory points just out of curiosity, even though they will continue into A World at War.

33.2  COMPLETING RESEARCH:

33.21  COMPLETING RESEARCH: Each major power alliance may assign research points to incomplete research or production projects. Research points may be assigned to atomic research even if neither of the atomic general research random events (random event cards 72 and 144) has been drawn (15.42C). The number of research points which may be used for this purpose are:

A. AXIS: Five research points:

B. ALLIES: Four research points:

C. RUSSIA: Four research points:

33.22 RESTRICTIONS: The following restrictions apply to research points assigned pursuant to rule 33.21:

A. Research points may not be used to augment research past the 12th step of a project.

B. No more than one Allied research point may be assigned to a purely French project.

In a Gathering Storm game that is not being continued into A World at War, there is no point to assigning these final research points to projects that will not either generate Gathering Storm victory points directly or potentially do so by possibly shifting the final Axis-Allied balance of power or the Russian garrison component of the Russian support level.

In a Gathering Storm game that is being continued into A World at War, however, research will continue and there will be many additional options for placing these final research points.